‘Nomadland’ wins big at 2021 Oscars!

Acting winners Yuh-Jung Youn, Daniel Kaluuya and Frances McDormand backstage after the Oscars. Image Source: Reuters

Hollywood’s biggest and most glittering night has taken place! The Academy Awards for 2021 were held with social distancing norms n place.

Director Chloé Zhao’s ‘Nomadland’ won big at the 93rd Academy Awards, winning three major awards: best picture, best actress for Frances McDormand, and best director. Chinese-born Zhao became only the second woman ever to win the prestigious honour, following Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker” in 2010. She also became the first woman of color and the first woman of Asian descent to earn best director at the Oscars tonight.

Meanwhile, 83-year-old Anthony Hopkins won the Best Actor award for his performance as dementia-ridden man in “The Father,” becoming the oldest winner ever. He won his previous Oscar almost three decades ago for “The Silence of the Lambs.”

Also, “Minari” co-star Yuh-jung Youn won the best supporting actress trophy, becoming the first Korean actress to win an Oscar. The movie is about a South Korean family that moves to Arkansas to start a new life. However, the move is much more challenging that they thought and so their grandmother, played by Youn, comes to live with them.

Judas and the Black Messiah, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Mank, Soul, and Sound of Metal all won two Academy Awards each.

Held without a host again, the Oscars opened with Regina King and concluded with Joaquin Phoenix announcing the award for Best Actor.

Here is the full list of award winners.

Best picture
Winner: Nomadland
The Father
Judas and the Black Messiah
Promising Young Woman
Sound of Metal
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best actress
Winner: Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Andra Day – The United States vs Billie Holiday
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best actor
Winner: Anthony Hopkins – The Father
Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Gary Oldman – Mank
Steven Yeun – Minari

Best supporting actress
Winner: Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy
Olivia Colman – The Father
Amanda Seyfried – Mank

Best supporting actor
Winner: Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Leslie Odom Jr – One Night in Miami
Paul Raci – Sound of Metal
Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah

Best director
Winner: Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
Another Round – Thomas Vinterberg
Mank – David Fincher
Minari – Lee Isaac Chung
Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell

Best original screenplay
Winner: Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell
Judas and the Black Messiah – Will Berson, Shaka King, Will Berson, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas
Minari – Lee Isaac Chung
Sound of Metal – Darius Marder, Abraham Marder, Derek Cianfrance
The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Best adapted screenplay
Winner: The Father – Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller
Borat Subsequent Moviefilm – Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern
Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
One Night in Miami – Kemp Powers
The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani

Best animated feature
Winner: Soul
Over the Moon
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Best documentary feature
Winner: My Octopus Teacher – Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster
Collective – Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana
Crip Camp – Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder
The Mole Agent – Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez
Time – Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn

Best international feature
Winner: Another Round (Denmark)
Better Days (Hong Kong)
Collective (Romania)
The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)
Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Best original song
Winner: Fight For You – Judas and the Black Messiah (H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas)
Hear my Voice – The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite)
Husavik – Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson)
Io Si (Seen) – The Life Ahead [La Vita Davanti a Se] (Diane Warren and Laura Pausini)
Speak Now – One Night in Miami… (Leslie Odom, Jr and Sam Ashworth)

Best original score
Winner: Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste
Da 5 Bloods – Terence Blanchard
Mank – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
Minari – Emile Mosseri
News of the World – James Newton Howard

Best cinematography
Winner: Mank – Erik Messerschmidt
Judas and the Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt
News of the World – Dariusz Wolski
Nomadland – Joshua James Richards
The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Phedon Papamichael

Best visual effects
Winner: Tenet – Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher
Love and Monsters – Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox
The Midnight Sky – Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins
Mulan – Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram
The One and Only Ivan – Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher

Best film editing
Winner: Sound of Metal – Mikkel EG Nielsen
The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos
Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
Promising Young Woman – Frédéric Thoraval
The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten

Best costume design
Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth
Emma – Alexandra Byrne
Mank – Trish Summerville
Mulan – Bina Daigeler
Pinocchio – Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best sound
Winner: Sound of Metal – Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh
Greyhound – Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman
Mank – Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin
News of the World – Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett
Soul – Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

Best production design
Winner: Mank – Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale
The Father – Peter Francis and Cathy Featherstone
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Mark Ricker, Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton
News of the World – David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan
Tenet – Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas

Best make-up and hairstyling
Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson
Emma – Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze
Hillbilly Elegy – Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney
Mank – Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff
Pinocchio – Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti

Best live action short
Winner: Two Distant Strangers – Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe
Feeling Through – Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski
The Letter Room – Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan
The Present – Farah Nabulsi
White Eye – Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman

Best animated short
Winner: If Anything Happens I Love You – Will McCormack and Michael Govier
Burrow – Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat
Genius Loci – Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise
Opera – Erick Oh
Yes-People – Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson

Best documentary short
Winner: Colette – Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard
A Concerto is a Conversation – Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers
Do Not Split – Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook
Hunger Ward – Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman
A Love Song for Latasha – Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan

Did your favorites win the awards? Let us know in the comments section below.

Exit mobile version