2019 Booker longlist announced

Image Source: www.booktopia.com.au

The longlist for the 2019 Booker Prize, which consists of 13 books, was announced recently.

It was a diverse set of writers that included some iconic ones such as Salman Rushdie and Margaret Atwood and some debutants such as Oyinkan Braithwaite.

Here is the complete list of 13 novels that have been picked from a total of 151 novels.

  1. Margaret Atwood (Canada), The Testaments (Vintage, Chatto & Windus)
  2. Kevin Barry (Ireland), Night Boat to Tangier (Canongate Books)
  3. Oyinkan Braithwaite (UK/Nigeria), My Sister, The Serial Killer (Atlantic Books)
  4. Lucy Ellmann (USA/UK), Ducks, Newburyport (Galley Beggar Press)
  5. Bernardine Evaristo (UK), Girl, Woman, Other (Hamish Hamilton)
  6. John Lanchester (UK), The Wall (Faber & Faber)
  7. Deborah Levy (UK), The Man Who Saw Everything (Hamish Hamilton)
  8. Valeria Luiselli (Mexico/Italy), Lost Children Archive (4th Estate)
  9. Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), An Orchestra of Minorities (Little Brown)
  10. Max Porter (UK), Lanny (Faber & Faber)
  11. Salman Rushdie (UK/India), Quichotte (Jonathan Cape)
  12. Elif Shafak (UK/Turkey), 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World (Viking)
  13. Jeanette Winterson (UK), Frankissstein (Jonathan Cape)

The shortlist of six books out of these 13 will be announced on 3rd September. Subsequently, the winner of the Booker Prize for 2019 will be announced on 14 October.

What is the Booker Prize?

One of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, the Booker Prize is awarded to writers of any nationality who have written in English and whose book has been published in the United Kingdom or Ireland.

Launched in 1969, the prize aims to promote the best in literary fiction. The winner of this honour receives a sum of 50,000 pounds as prize money.

Literary giants such as James Farrell, Salman Rushdie, Hilary Mantel, and Julian Barnes have been recipients of this prize.

Exit mobile version