The First 22 Countries in the World to Legalize Same-Sex Marriages

same sex marrige

Source @

Brunei has been in the news recently for its regressive laws against homosexuality. It has, unfortunately, made gay sex punishable by death by stoning. However, many nations across the world have recognized and legalized same-sex marriages and many more are on their way to do so.

The world has, in the past two decades, made progress with accepting the LGBTQ community and same-sex marriages. However, there is still much stigma attached to this subject, with constant emotional and political clashes between supporters and opponents. It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that this is one of the most divisive topics of all time.

In this article, we give you a list of the first 22 nations that legalized same-sex marriages.

The Netherlands, one of the most progressive nations in the world, was the first nation that legalized same-sex marriages. It did so in the year 2000. Post this, the first same-sex marriages took place in the Netherlands in 2001 when four couples tied the knot.

However, Denmark was the first nation to recognize same-sex couples as domestic partners.

Country Year of Legalization
The Netherlands 2000
Belgium 2003
Canada 2005
Spain 2005
South Africa 2006
Norway 2008
Sweden 2009
Iceland 2010
Portugal 2010
Argentina 2010
Denmark 2012
Uruguay 2013
Brazil 2013
New Zealand 2013
England, Wales 2013
France 2013
Luxembourg 2014
Scotland 2014
The United States of Amerca 2015
Ireland 2015
Finland 2015
Greenland 2015

No matter who we are, and whom we love, shouldn’t all of us be equal? And if marriage is love, trust, friendship, and intimacy, shouldn’t every person be allowed to marry whomever he/she wishes to?

What do you think? Do let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Exit mobile version