The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is About to Begin!

Image Source:

The ICC Cricket World Cup, organised by the governing body of cricket in the world – International Cricket Council, is due to begin from 30th May 2019. This event is one of the most anticipated and most watched sporting tournaments across the world.

The 2019 World Cup is the 12th edition of the one-day international World Cup and will be hosted by England and Wales. To be held across a duration of six weeks, the tournament will end on 14th July 2019.

A total of 10 teams will play a total of 48 matches to win the coveted trophy. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England (hosts), India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies are the participating teams.

The total prize money for the tournament is a whopping $10 million. The winning team will win $4 million while the runner-up will be awarded $2 million.

History of the ICC Cricket World Cup

The first World Cup for Cricket was held in English in 1975 and it was won by the West Indies. Since then, it has been held once in four years.

Here is a list of winners, runners up, and the hosts across the various editions of the World Cup.

Year Hosts Winner Runners-up
1975 England West Indies Australia
1979 England West Indies England
1983 England India West Indies
1987 India – Pakistan Australia England
1992 Australia – New Zealand Pakistan England
1996 India – Pakistan – Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Australia
1999 England – Wales Australia Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia India
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India – Sri Lanka – Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
2015 Australia – New Zealand Australia New Zealand

Facts and Trivia about the World Cup

This edition of the Cricket World Cup is going to be as exciting as ever! Which teams are you betting on? Do let us know your views!

Exit mobile version