Novak Djokovic Wins Australian Open 2019, beats Rafael Nadal

Novak Djokovic wins Australian Open 2019, beats Rafael Nadal

Serbian and world number one Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open 2019 by beating claycourt champion Rafael Nadal in straight sets. With the 6-3, 6-2, 6-3 win, he won his third straight Grand Slam trophy, after winning the Wimbledon and the US Open in 2018. The icing on the cake is that with this win, he has also won a record seven Australian Open championships. He now has a 100 per cent win record in the Australian Open final: he has won the final every single part that he has been a part of it. The previous times in which he won the Norman Brookes trophy, as the men’s singles championship is called, are in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016.

See also Future of Footwear Smart Shoes by Nike

Unfortunately, the Spaniard Nadal was completely outplayed by Djokovic, who polished off the match in a little over two hours in the Rod Laver Arena of Melbourne Park. It was the first time when Nadal lost a Grand Slam final in straight sets.

With this win, Djokovic has set many records. He has moved past the legendary Pete Sampras (14) for winning 15 Grand Slam titles. He now stands third in the list of all-time Grand Slam wins, only behind Roger Federer (20) and Rafael Nadal (17). Further, he surpassed a joint record held by Roger Federer and Roy Emerson (6) to win the most Australian Open championships.

Read more information, trivia, and details about the Australian Open here.

Exit mobile version