Indian Captain Virat Kohli Wins Big-Three ICC Awards

Indian Captain Virat Kohli wins big-three ICC awards

The captain of the Indian national cricket team Virat Kohli has had a fantastic year with the bat. However, just as he finishes off his matches in style, so he has finished the year 2018 with a bang!

Kohli made history by becoming the first player ever to win all the three major awards at the International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards in the same year. He won the Sir Gary Sobers Trophy for the ICC best cricketer of the year, the test player of the year, and the ICC men’s ODI player of the year. Further, he was named the captain of both, the ODI and the Test teams of 2018.

In 2018, he scored 1,202 runs one-day international runs from 14 ODI matches at an average of a whopping 133.55. In test matches, he scored 1,322 runs from 13 test matches at an average of 55.08.

Kohli had won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the cricketer of the year last year too. Further, he was awarded the ODI player of the year twice before – in 2012 and 2017. His team, India is ranked number one in Test cricket and are at number two on ODIs.

South African player Kagiso Rabada was second in the ICC cricketer of the year and the Test cricketer of the year categories. Rashid Khan from Afghanistan came second after Kohli in the ODI player of the year category.

Winners of Other Major Awards

Wicketkeeper and batsman Rishabh Pant from India was awarded the Emerging Cricketer of the year. He too has had an exceptional year, becoming the first Indian wicketkeeper to score a Test century in England. He also equalled the record for the most number of catches taken in a test when he took 11 catches in the test against Australia in Adelaide in December.

Scotland batsman Calum MacLeod was awarded the ICC Associate Cricketer of the year. He scored a massive 140 runs to help his country win its first ODI match ever against England.

Australian opener Aaron Finch won the Twenty20 performance of the year award for scoring 172 against Zimbabwe in Harare. This was the highest individual score T20 score ever by any player. Notably, he had also won the award last year.

See also Tourism Australia Taps into Indian Cricket Madness

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was awarded the ICC Spirit of Cricket award. He was chosen as the winner of this award by the ICC CEO for his commitment to playing the game in the right spirit and for being a role model to the cricketing community.

Kumar Dharmasena was named the Umpire of the year, winning the prestigious David Shepherd Trophy.

Test Team of the year:

Tom Latham (New Zealand)
Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)
Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
Virat Kohli (India) (captain)
Henry Nicholls (New Zealand)
Rishabh Pant (India) (wicket keeper)
Jason Holder (Windies)
Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
Nathan Lyon (Australia)
Jasprit Bumrah (India)
Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

ODI Team of the year:

Rohit Sharma (India)
Jonny Bairstow (England)
Virat Kohli (India) (captain)
Joe Root (England)
Ross Taylor (New Zealand)
Jos Buttler (England) (wicket keeper)
Ben Stokes (England)
Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
Kuldeep Yadav (India)
Jasprit Bumrah (India)

Read more about the awards and their winners here.

Exit mobile version