FIFA Women’s World Cup Begins on 7th June

FIFA Women's World Cup

Image Source: Stars and Stripes FC

The FIFA Women’s World Cup will begin on 7th June and will continue till 7th July 2019. A total of 24 teams will participate in the event that is held once every four years.

France is playing the role of the host country and nine cities across France will host the matches. This is for the first time ever that France is hosting this tournament.

The United States of America enter the tournament as defending champions.

This edition of the World Cup will be the very first time when the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) system is used.

Mascot of the 2019 FIFA World Cup

The mascot of the 2019 FIFA World Cup is a young chicken called ‘Ettie.’ She is the daughter of Footix, the mascot of the 1998 FIFA World Cup.

Image Source:

The official slogan for the tournament is ‘Dare to Shine.’

History of the FIFA Women’s World Cup

The first edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup was held in 1991 in China.

The United States has been the most successful team, winning a record three cups. Germany has won two cups while Norway and Japan have won one each.

Here is a list of hosts, winners, and runners-up for the previous editions.

Year Hosts Winners Runners-up
1991 China United States Norway
1995 Sweden Norway Germany
1999 United States United States China
2003 United States Germany Sweden
2007 China Germany Brazil
2011 Germany Japan United States
2015 Canada United States Japan

Whom are you rooting for this World Cup? Do let us know who your favourite team is in the comments section below.

Exit mobile version