Copa America 2019: Brazil beats Peru to win title

Image Source: BBC

Brazil beat Peru 3-1 to win the Copa America 2019 and its ninth Copa America title. Interestingly, by winning this title, Brazil also maintained its record of winning the tournament each time it played host.

For Brazil, Gabriel Jesus, Sousa Soares, and Richarlison, scored one goal each. Paolo Guerrero scored the only goal for Peru.

This was Brazil’s first Copa America victory in 12 years and its first success after winning the Olympic gold in 2016.

Argentina took the third spot in the 46th edition of the tournament whereas defending champions Chile were at the fourth place.

Apart from the 10 South American nations – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela – the tournament also featured Japan and Qatar as the invited teams. Qatar became the first Arab nation ever to be a part of the Copa America.

What is Copa America?

Copa America is a football tournament organized by CONMEBOL, the governing body for football in South America. Founded in 1916, this is one of the oldest football tournaments in the world and decides the continental champion of football in South America.

Since 1993, two other teams from across the world are invited to play in the tournament apart from the 10 South American teams.

Exit mobile version