Belgium Wins Hockey World Cup


Image Source: Twitter ( @TheHockeyIndia)

In a stunning finale, Belgium defeated the Netherlands to win the 2018 Hockey World Cup held at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneshwar, India. It won the penalty shoot-out 3-2 after the match ended in a goalless draw. This was Belgium’s first ever World Cup title.

The penalty shoot-out was a tense one to say in the least. At 2-2, the final winning shot by Belgium’s Arthur de Sloover was called for review by the Netherlands. Subsequently, the goal was withdrawn after replays confirmed that the ball had touched Sloover’s foot while going into the net. This led the match to sudden death, in which Belgium scored and the Netherlands missed.

Arthur Van Doren of Belgium was awarded the Player of the Tournament. Blake Govers of England and Alexander Hendrickx of Belgium scored the maximum number of goals (7).

Defending champions Australia secured the third spot by thrashing England 8-1.

Exit mobile version